Finally some progress in the attic

After some months of intense home refurbishing, I managed to clean up the attic and free up some space to play the music.

First of all, I was very happy when I had the chance of buying 3 seats from the Queen Elisabeth Hall. These are in a very good shape and a real delight to sit in and listen to the music!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the refurbishing in the other part of the house made progress, I had the opportunity to clean up the attic. There was also a special HiFi rack designed and build for most of my HiFi equipment. The shelves can handle a weight of 100kg per shelve, at least that was the specification 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

The future projects include the building of bass traps, anti-reflection screens and I also want to create some storage space in the lower sections of the attic.

One can notice that the speakers are fed trough Chord Epic loudspeaker cables in a regular speaker feeding topology. Before this I used bi-wiring but by using the Epic cables and the Signature jumpers I managed to ameliorate bass performance and increase imaging in the system. The interlinks are changed to Chord company Anthem cables that gave me even more bass definition and imaging of a detailed soundstage.

But the best thing that happened was the better placement of the speakers. Finding the best bass performance location in my room turned out to be the key to a really good sounding system. Then I moved the speakers further back from the wall and set-up the best toe in for the speakers. This was a long and precise project where I carefully adjusted and measured out every change. The tool I found to be very helpful was a laser with the possibility to project square lines.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The only thing that rests is to get rid of some reflections on the sides of the speakers. Due to the distance between speakers and listening position, I do not experience a lot of problems. But unless I have tried it, I could not say if those anti-reflection screens will improve the sound or not…

 

This entry was posted in HiFi and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment