Some day my prince will come

It’s been a long time that I’ve listened to ‘some day my prince will come’ (1961) with Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Hank Mobley, Wynton Kelly, Paul Chambers and Jimmy Cobb.
I had the pleasure to meet Mr. Cobb at the first edition of the Leffe Jazz Nights where he played a very tasteful concert together with Joey Defrancesco and Larry Coryell. This festival in Dinant is in my humble opinion the best jazz festival in Belgium. 4 days of jazz in a very relaxing environment…

20121213-214338.jpg
This record is a nice end of the day record, just concluding the day with a piece of this fresh music is the best nightcap. Of course the band is high quality, the music is also top of the line and now for the first time on the Gyro SE with SME V, it sounds so detailed and yet relaxing that it is like I’m in the recording studio.

20121213-213047.jpg
Hearing Mr. Cobb on the drums remembers me that, after all these years, he is still playing at this high level. This summer he played a version of the kind of blue theme that one can only dream about.
Although ‘some day my prince will come’ is straight ahead jazz, I’m enjoying it 100%!

This entry was posted in HiFi, jazz and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment